Wertheim awarded “Scientia Medal”

IFF Director Margaret Wertheim has been awarded the 2017 Scientia Medal for science communication by the University of New South Wales, Australia. Given annually, along with the Bragg Prize for science writing, the medal has previously been won by Stephen & Lucy Hawking, and Scottish geologist/broadcaster Professor Ian Stewart.

Scientia Medal 

Tuesday 7 November 2017
6pm to 8pm
Australian Museum

Cnr College St and William St, Sydney

UNSW Dean of Science Professor Emma Johnston and Chief Executive of UNSW Press Kathy Bail invite you to the launch of The Best Australian Science Writing 2017 and announcement of the 2017 Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing.

Internationally noted science writer, artist and curator Margaret Wertheim will launch the anthology.

In recognition of her enormous contribution to science communication, Wertheim will be presented with the UNSW Scientia Medal for Science Communication at this special event.

UNSW President & Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Jacobs will also announce the winners of the Bragg student prizes for science writing.

Refreshments and canapés will be served. We look forward to welcoming you.

Registration is essential.

Register here